Sebastião Salgado, Bruno Barbey et Jean Gaumy élus à l’Académie des beaux-arts

-May,3rd 2016-

10 ans après la création de la section de Photographie à l'Académie des beaux-arts et l'élection de Lucien Clergue et Yann Arthus-Bertrand, la section accueille aujourd'hui trois nouveaux photographes qui viennent d’être élus en séance plénière :

- Sebastião Salgado au fauteuil précédemment occupé par Lucien Clergue (1934-2014)
- Bruno Barbey au fauteuil n°3 (nouveau fauteuil)
- Jean Gaumy au fauteuil n°4 (nouveau fauteuil)

Dedicated to the fine arts, the Académie des Beaux-Arts, as it has been known since 1803, is one of five institutions comprising the Institut de France. The other four are the Académie Française, Académie des Sciences, Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres and Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques. The Académie des Beaux-Arts is a descendant of the French royal academies established in the 17th century. Constituted around the notion of multidisciplinarity, the Académie des Beaux-Arts brings together fifty-seven members within eight artistic sections, sixteen foreign associate members and fifty-seven corresponding members.

The Academy's Activities
The Académie des Beaux-Arts' mandate, as defined in its articles of association, is “to contribute to the defence, promotion and development of France's artistic heritage, while respecting the plurality of expressions”. To fulfil its mission of supporting creation, the Académie des Beaux-Arts provides diverse forms of patronage in France and abroad, namely by awarding numerous prizes to both budding and recognised artists, organising competitions, funding artist residencies and granting aid to artistic projects, events and associations. As an advisory body to the French public authorities, the academy also leads discussions on artistic matters at its weekly sessions, during which guest speakers from the world of culture address a wide range of subjects.

The Academy's Foundations
Another cornerstone of the academy's activities is its administration of the cultural foundations it owns, the most famous being the Marmottan Monet Museum, the Claude Monet Foundation in Giverny, the Ephrussi de Rothschild Villa in Saint Jean Cap Ferrat.

The academy fosters diverse partnerships with a considerable network of cultural institutions and patrons, including the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts, the Académie de France in Rome (Villa Medicis) and the Cité Internationale des Arts. It is also actively involved in managing the Casa de Velasquez, a great institution of higher education in Madrid (Académie de France à Madrid).